Skip to content

AthenaHQ plans checked October 24, 2026

AthenaHQ alternatives

AthenaHQ has a free plan with 300 credits and a Starter plan at $295 a month ($245 billed yearly) with 3,600 credits on 11 models; one credit is one AI response. Look at alternatives for a lower monthly price or a fixed schedule: Placton tracks five AI platforms from $59 a month, with no credits to count.

Placton tracksChatGPTClaudeGoogle AIPerplexityGrok

Placton dashboard: visibility, sentiment, average position and mentions, a chart of direct and indirect mentions by brand and the competitor ranking.

AthenaHQ alternatives: the short verdict

We make Placton, one of the alternatives, so read our view with that in mind. Every AthenaHQ figure comes from its plans page (opens in a new tab), read on .

Stay with AthenaHQ if

  • You want to start free. AthenaHQ’s Essential plan gives 300 credits on five models at no cost; Placton has a 7-day trial, not a free plan.

  • You want eleven models on one plan, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Copilot, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral among them. Placton tracks five.

  • You want more next to tracking: content recommendations, the Athena AI agent, GA4 and Search Console integration, and CSV export on Starter.

Pick an alternative if

  • You want a lower monthly price. Placton Starter costs $59 a month ($50.17 billed yearly), against $295 for AthenaHQ Starter ($245 billed yearly).

  • You want a fixed schedule instead of a credit balance. Placton asks ChatGPT and Google AI every day and Claude, Perplexity and Grok every week, with nothing to top up.

  • You want to know how often each prompt runs before you buy. AthenaHQ’s plans page counts credits, not runs.

AthenaHQ pricing (checked )

A free plan, one self-serve plan and a custom Enterprise plan, all counted in credits. “Annual (17% off)”: Starter $245 a month, billed annually.

Scroll sideways to see every column.

AthenaHQ plans from its plans page, checked October 24, 2026: price, credits, AI models, team, markets, API, export and extras
PlanPriceCreditsAI modelsTeam and marketsAPI and exportHow you start, and extras
AthenaHQ Essentialathenahq.ai/plans(opens AthenaHQ Essential in a new tab)Checked October 24, 2026Free300 credits (1 credit = 1 AI response)ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Gemini, CopilotUnlimited usersNot statedAPI: NoExport: Not statedSelf-serve (“Start for Free”)
  • Prompt and response analysis
  • Sources and competitor insights
  • Content recommendations
  • Athena AI agent
AthenaHQ Starterathenahq.ai/plans(opens AthenaHQ Starter in a new tab)Checked October 24, 2026$295/month$245 a month billed yearly3,600 credits a month (1 credit = 1 AI response); unlimited topics and promptsChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI, Mistral (11 models)Unlimited seatsCountry-level support (single region and language)API: Paid add-on (price on request)Export: CSVSelf-serve (“Choose Starter”)
  • Unlimited competitors
  • GA4 and Google Search Console integration
  • Extra credits as a paid add-on
  • The card also reads “$300/month free credit”
AthenaHQ Enterpriseathenahq.ai/plans(opens AthenaHQ Enterprise in a new tab)Checked October 24, 2026CustomCustom credits (1 credit = 1 AI response)The Starter models, with more “available upon request”Unlimited seatsMultiple regions and languagesAPI: IncludedExport: CSV; BI tools (Tableau, Power BI, Looker)“Contact sales”
  • SAML and OIDC SSO
  • Audit log
  • Dedicated Slack channel and 2-hour SLA
  • White-glove setup

What the plans page does not say

  • How often prompts are re-run (plans are counted in credits)

  • Whether the 300 free credits renew every month

  • Price of API access and extra credits

  • Whether answers come from each AI’s app or from an API

  • What the “$300/month free credit” line on the Starter card means

Source: athenahq.ai/plans (opens in a new tab), read on with both the monthly and annual views. API access and extra credits on Starter: “Contact us for add-on pricing”. Plans change; if this one has, send us a note and we will put it right.

How far 3,600 AthenaHQ credits go

One credit is one AI response, so a schedule costs prompts × models × runs a month. Here is what fits in AthenaHQ Starter’s 3,600 monthly credits, counting 30 runs for a daily check and 4 for a weekly one.

Scroll sideways to see every column.

Monthly credits used by different tracking schedules, against the 3,600 credits of AthenaHQ Starter; checked October 24, 2026
ScheduleCredits per prompt a monthOn AthenaHQ Starter (3,600 credits)
Placton Starter’s schedule20 prompts: two platforms daily, three weeklyOur product721,440 credits a monthFits, with 2,160 credits left
Placton Growth’s schedule75 prompts, same rhythmOur product725,400 credits a month1,800 credits more than the plan includes
Five models, every day5 answers a prompt, 30 times a month150Up to 24 prompts
All 11 models, every week11 answers a prompt, 4 times a month44Up to 81 prompts
All 11 models, every day11 answers a prompt, 30 times a month330Up to 10 prompts

AthenaHQ does not publish how often it runs prompts; these rows are our arithmetic on its “1 credit = 1 AI response”. * On paid plans. ChatGPT is read on chatgpt.com in every country Placton tracks except Venezuela and Puerto Rico, where it is asked weekly through its API.

Plenty of room for a small set. Placton Starter’s whole schedule uses 1,440 credits’ worth of answers, well inside AthenaHQ Starter. Placton Growth’s uses 5,400, which needs extra credits there.

Tight with every model, every day. Asking all 11 models daily leaves room for about 10 prompts, so on AthenaHQ you choose between breadth of models and how often you check.

No credits on Placton. Each plan has a set number of prompts and a fixed rhythm, so the bill and the number of answers stay the same every month.

See what AI can read on your website

We run 18 checks on what helps AI assistants find, read and cite your site, and tell you what to fix first.

Ready as soon as you sign up, included in the free trial.

No account? Free GEO audit tool: the same 18 checks, without signing up.

AthenaHQ vs Placton, side by side

The same points for both tools. AthenaHQ’s column is Starter unless it says otherwise; Placton’s applies to every plan.

Scroll sideways to see every column.

AthenaHQ and Placton compared on price, free option, volume, AI platforms, refresh, team, markets, competitors, data access and integrations; AthenaHQ checked October 24, 2026
FeatureAthenaHQPlacton (our product)
Entry priceStarter $295 a month ($245 billed yearly)Starter $59 a month ($50.17 billed yearly)
Free optionEssential plan: 300 credits on five models7-day trial, up to 10 prompts, no card; the 18-point site audit is free without an account
Volume3,600 AI responses a month on Starter; unlimited prompts and topics20, 75 or 250 prompts, about 1,440 answers a month on Starter
AI platforms11 on Starter: ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and MistralChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Claude, Perplexity and Grok
RefreshNot stated; you spend creditsChatGPT and Google AI daily*, Claude, Perplexity and Grok weekly
TeamUnlimited seats2 on Starter, 10 on Growth, unlimited on Scale
Countries and languagesCountry-level support (single region and language); multiple on EnterpriseOne of each per workspace, from 40 countries and 7 languages
CompetitorsUnlimitedUp to 25
API and exportCSV export; API as a paid add-on on StarterNo export, no API
IntegrationsGA4 and Google Search ConsoleNone
Placton: a new idea for your brand every week, backed by a figure (example data).

* On paid plans. ChatGPT is read on chatgpt.com in every country Placton tracks except Venezuela and Puerto Rico, where it is asked weekly through its API.

What the trial includes

A fixed price and a fixed rhythm from day one: try Placton for 7 days on up to 10 prompts, without a card.

  • 7 days free, no card. Sign up with your email or Google. When the trial ends, tracking stops and nothing is charged.

  • Up to 10 prompts. We suggest prompts and competitors from your website, and you edit the list before the first run.

  • All five AI platforms on day one. ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Claude, Perplexity and Grok answer your prompts as soon as your email is confirmed.

  • ChatGPT and Google AI again every day while you keep visiting your dashboard. Claude, Perplexity and Grok are asked once, at sign-up.

  • One “Run now” and the 18-point site audit. After the trial, our free GEO audit tool still audits any site, without an account.

  • On paid plans only: team invites and the weekly email summary with alerts.

* On paid plans. ChatGPT is read on chatgpt.com in every country Placton tracks except Venezuela and Puerto Rico, where it is asked weekly through its API.

Placton Starter

Track 20 prompts on 5 AI platforms

$59/ month (USD)

Or $602 billed yearly · save $106

Start your 7-day free trial

7 days free. No card required.

  • Up to 20 prompts, about 1,440 answers a month
  • ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Claude, Perplexity, Grok
  • ChatGPT and Google AI every day*, the other three every week
  • Competitor ranking (up to 25 rivals) and every cited URL
  • Weekly insights, plus an email summary with alerts
  • 18-point AI-readiness site audit
  • Up to 2 team members

Need more prompts? Growth is $129 a month for 75 and Scale $299 for 250. Compare all plans

Other AthenaHQ alternatives

Four tools that solve a different part of the problem, each from its own pricing page as read on the date shown. For more plans under $100 a month, see our comparison of GEO tools under $100.

  • Claude and Grok checked every day

    Trakkr Growth

    $100/mo

    Prompts
    50
    AI engines
    ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI
    Refresh
    Daily

    Official pricing (opens in a new tab)Checked October 19, 2026

  • Gemini or AI Mode with a fixed daily schedule

    Peec AI Starter

    $95/mo

    Prompts
    50
    AI engines
    Choose 3 models: ChatGPT, AI Mode, AI Overviews, Microsoft Copilot, Gemini, Naver AI
    Refresh
    Daily (4,500 AI answers a month)

    Official pricing (opens in a new tab)Checked October 24, 2026

  • The smallest monthly bill with daily data

    Otterly.AI Lite

    $29/mo

    Prompts
    15 search prompts
    AI engines
    ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity, MS Copilot; Claude, Google AI Mode and Gemini as extra add-ons
    Refresh
    Daily

    Official pricing (opens in a new tab)Checked October 24, 2026

  • Tracking plus site optimization tools

    Scrunch Core

    $250/mo

    Prompts
    125 unique prompts, 5,000 responses a month
    AI engines
    ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AIO, Copilot (4 LLMs)
    Refresh
    New prompts daily for the first 14 days, then every 72 hours by default; refresh on demand

    Official pricing (opens in a new tab)Checked October 24, 2026

AthenaHQ Starter is close in price to Scrunch Core, and both go beyond tracking. If you are weighing the two, decide first which numbers you will act on: our guide to GEO performance monitoring tools covers that.

Questions about AthenaHQ alternatives

About Placton itself? Read the full FAQs or see every plan and price.

What are the best AthenaHQ alternatives?

For a much lower monthly price on a fixed schedule, Placton tracks ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Claude, Perplexity and Grok from $59 a month. For Claude and Grok checked every day, Trakkr Growth costs $100 a month (checked October 19, 2026).

For Gemini or Google AI Mode on a daily schedule, Peec AI Starter costs $95 a month (checked October 24, 2026). As Placton’s makers we are not neutral, which is why every rival figure links to its source.

Compare more plans under $100 a month

How much does AthenaHQ cost?

On October 24, 2026, AthenaHQ listed a free Essential plan with 300 credits, Starter at $295 a month ($245 a month billed yearly, “17% off”) with 3,600 credits, and a custom Enterprise plan. API access and extra credits on Starter are paid add-ons priced on request.

What is an AthenaHQ credit?

One credit is one AI response, according to AthenaHQ. Starter’s 3,600 credits are 3,600 answers a month, spread however you choose across prompts, models and runs. Placton Starter’s schedule would use about 1,440 of them, and Growth’s about 5,400.

Is AthenaHQ free?

It has a free Essential plan with 300 credits on ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, Gemini and Copilot. The plans page does not say whether those credits renew each month. Placton has no free plan: its trial lasts 7 days without a card. What stays free is its 18-point site audit, which anyone can run on its GEO audit tool page without an account.

How often does AthenaHQ check my prompts?

Its plans page does not say: plans are counted in credits, so how often prompts run depends on how you spend them. Placton asks ChatGPT and Google AI Overviews every day on paid plans and Claude, Perplexity and Grok every week.

Does AthenaHQ have an API or data export?

Starter includes CSV export, and API access is a paid add-on on top of the subscription; Enterprise includes the API and BI tools such as Tableau, Power BI and Looker. Placton has no API or export.

Does Placton track as many AI models as AthenaHQ?

No. Placton tracks five: ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Claude, Perplexity and Grok. AthenaHQ Starter lists 11, including Google AI Mode, Gemini, Copilot, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral.

Is Placton cheaper than AthenaHQ?

Mostly. Placton Starter ($59 a month) and Growth ($129) cost less than AthenaHQ Starter ($295). Scale, Placton’s largest card plan, costs $299, $4 more than AthenaHQ Starter. AthenaHQ also has a free plan and includes more models; Placton includes a fixed schedule, with Claude and Grok on every plan.

Try an AthenaHQ alternative from $59 a month

Add your website, review the prompts and competitors we suggest, and see what ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Claude, Perplexity and Grok say about you on the first day.

Start your 7-day free trial

7 days free. No card required.

Compare all plans